Walking, with Fitness as Just an Added Bonus

The fall is my favorite time of year. I love the pretty colors of the leaves. I think that will be a bitter sweet realisation when the colors are not as bright and brilliant as up in the Adirondacks. But regardless, the leaves will be beautiful. And the smell of the crisp air, and the chill. I love wearing boots, so I can’t wait to dig them out of my chest.

Another favorite part about autumn is the fact that so many groups host their charity walks. I walked for AIDS last spring, which was a nice welcome to the area, but there is always an abundance of charity walks in the autumn. I love giving back to my community, so I am super excited to take advantage of being in a more urban area, where there will be so many more walks.

Now I wouldn’t call myself a random walker. I have to actually have a connection with the group or organization. While in FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) we used to walk for everything. I walked for Cystic Fibrosis (my math teacher’s niece and nephew suffered this terrible disease), we sold plushies and walked for March of Dimes (a good friend was born premature, and if I ever have a child that is a risk I might face). I had never heard of ALS (Lou Geurig’s Disease) but after telling my mom I was walking, she told me people in her side of the family have had it, and it is similar to the neuro disease on my dad’s side, so I feel like supporting the cause could potentially impact the my life, or someone in my family. And finally, we walked for Alzheimer’s, which again, began as a way to be with my club, but my mother also told me that the older members of her family have suffered dementia. I think we walked for MDA once too, which obviously affects me directly. I can’t explain how thankful I am for being involved with FBLA and becoming networked with all these amazing groups.

When I started college, I switched my focus to Out of the Darkness, suicide prevention and suicide, Take Back the Night, domestic violence and assault, and LGBT equality and associated organizations (like HIV/AIDS).

In the upcoming months, I have been so lucky to find three community walks that I am interested in.

Click to donate

Growing up, we only had a handful of students with juvenile diabetes. Now that I am in the real world, I have half a dozen friends with this unfortunate illness. No one deserves diabetes, but at least when people throw away their health they almost expect it when it is diagnosed. But to be born with an endocrine dysfunction and a life of potential side effects; no one deserves this.

Click to donate

At the time being, there are over 5 million people here in America who are diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. However, that number is growing at a rapid pace, and could triple in the near future. With my family history, I don’t want to be one of those future case. I don’t think anyone deserves to live a long, happy, healthy life, but be unable to remember a bulk of it.

Click to donate

Thousands of Americans each year take their own lives, and that number is in the millions across the globe. Parents, children, aunts and uncles, nieces, nephews, grandparents and grandchildren, and friends are all effected by suicide. No one should feel so alone, so lost in life where they do not think it is worth continuing.

There is a fundraising aspect to all of these, which is why I included links to my personal page for each. However, I don’t think money is what finds a cure. Sure it helps, but I think it is the people coming out and showing the importance and support that makes a difference. so even if I cannot bring a fat check for each, I will show my passion and commitment for raising support and awareness.

Leave a Reply

