The Happy Cappuccino

1_f020ddcee147c7e2dab309702feea948Nestled on the corner of Jay and State Street, in Downtown Schenectady is the Happy Cappuccino; inviting the town to come in their open doors. Guests can sit inside on their various devices or people watch at the tiny tables and chairs on the sidewalk. The coffee and espresso is free trade and organic, has artwork from local artists hanging on the bright, colorful walls, and a side table allows local businesses to leave business cards and promotional flyers. I took a postcard for a paint studio on Union Street. Hang tight for my visit and review for Canvas, Corks & Forks!

One morning I decided to pay them a visit for the first time. I was very impressed with the welcoming atmosphere at 7:15 in the morning. It was warm and friendly. One person was in line before me, and the single barista was foaming his milk.

IMG_7701

I browsed the fresh-baked good. There were two muffin options, and two turnover options. I chose the apple turnover, based on the size and flakiness. The shop also has gluten-free, vegan bars available. Barista seemed knowledgable about their flavor, although I didn’t try one myself.There is an impressive selection of flavor shots and coffee drinks, as well as fruit smoothies. I left with two small coffees, both black with no sugar; mine with a shot of peppermint syrup to ease my upset belly. I was pleased that she asked if I needed room for cream, instead of leaving the top two inches empty with assumption.  Two coffees and a pastry for $7 and change. Not terrible.

I hope to return one evening for the open mic experience.

Want to visit the Happy Cappuccino?
185 Jay St
Schenectady, New York

Hours
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday: 6:30-6pm
Thursday, Friday: 6:30-9pm
Saturday: 9am-9pm
Sunday: 9am-3pm

 

One thought on “The Happy Cappuccino

  1. Pingback: Happy Capp- Iced Matcha | Kat on the Prowl

Leave a Reply

