Fonda Fair Food

A childhood past time, I grew up going to the Fonda Fair each year. This time, as it came around, although no longer a kid, I wanted to share this piece of my youth with my boyfriend. To make things fun and conscious of our wallets, we each only brought a single $20 bill, and hoped for the best.

Adult admission, $10. We already used half of our budget before stepping foot in the gate!

After a quick tour of the fairgrounds (the vendors, the display booths, the rides, the carnival games, and the cows) we decided to find healthy at the food vendors. The Fonda Fair comes once each year, sometimes it is ok to treat yourself.

J’s first treat: strawberry lemonade. $4 for the cup ($2 refills)

  • 32 oz water
  • 1 lemon, halved, squeezed
  • 1/2 cup thawed strawberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar

It certainly was delicious, although we both cringed when we saw the full scoop of sugar go on.

J then treated himself to roasted corn on the cob. $3

My fried fair treat was deep fried oreos for the first time ever. I have heard wonderful things about deep fried, everything. I love fried dough, what could it hurt? Besides my arteries anyway.

There were deep fried Twinkies, Snickers, Twix, vegetables, Pop Tarts, and even a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, all for only $3 each. But I wanted to give the originals a shot, and handed out $4 for 6 Oreos.

The man sprinkled them with powdered sugar, and I added some caramel, chocolate, and strawberry sauces to the tray for dipping.

Honestly, after the first one I was done. I love fried dough, so I liked the batter. The Oreo tasted like a mushy Oreo. I forced myself to eat a second, to give it another shot. J ate 3 of them. The last one found home in the trash bin.

With 75% of our budget gone, and hunger raising in our belly, we sought out burgers and fries. Except neither of us ended with burgers and fries! J purchased a Greek shish kabob, $4, with chunks of marinated meat on a stick grilled and handed in foil. I found a Swiss mushroom chicken sandwich with lettuce, tomato, and mayonnaise for $5. I dipped it in barbecue sauce as we listened to a bluegrass band play “newgrass” religious tunes.

So, at the end of the day we spend $40 on the Fair, Food, and Fun. Was it the healthiest? No, I think those fried Oreos are still in my arteries. But it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

