Gigi’s Cupcakes

wpid-wp-1430786390792.jpeg

Those who know me know that I love to bake. Generally I bake vegan goods, often times using honey instead of sugar, and sometimes even gluten free. I’m not vegan, nor do I have celiac’s disease, but I enjoy exploring these options. Sugar is one of those things that we are subliminally poisoning ourselves with, so I avoid adding it whenever possible. Sugar is found naturally in so much, why do we want to add processed rocks to impact our reaction? But I digress.

Sometimes, however, I do crave something sweet, and when a banana doesn’t do it for me I find myself seeking somewhere new. This time I ended up at Gigi’s Cupcakes. Surprisingly, even though the shop looks like a local baker’s big dream, Gigi’s is actually a small franchise with shops around the country. By small I mean smaller than McDonalds or Dunkin Donuts, but actually the largest bakery franchise in the world. Funny how that works.

Even though we were new to the area, one of the employees recognized us from the recent Butterfly Release. It is that Southern Hospitality that makes a person feel at home, even when home is on the other side of the country.

We each chose a delicious, oversized cupcake and even though they gave us an adorable cake box.. We didn’t even make it out of the shop before they were devoured.

Leave a Reply

